COMMISSIONERS' MEETING April 21, 2014

The Bartholomew County Commissioners met in regular session on April 21, 2014 in the Governmental Office Building, 440 Third Street, Columbus, Indiana. Chairman Carl Lienhoop called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Commissioners Larry Kleinhenz and Rick Flohr, County Attorney J. Grant Tucker and County Auditor Barbara Hackman were also in attendance.

Commissioner Lienhoop gave the Invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

The first item on the agenda was the approval of the April 14, 2014 Meeting Minutes. Commissioner Flohr made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Commissioner Kleinhenz, and the motion passed unanimously.

Next was the approval of claims. Commissioner Kleinhenz made a motion to approve the claims subject to withholding payment to Fletcher Chrysler Products, Inc. for Sheriff's vehicles until all the titles are received. Commissioner Flohr seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

The next item was the weekly permit report. Chairman Lienhoop read the New Permit Report dated 4/14/14 to 4/18/14. Thirty (30) permits had been issued with a fee amount of \$3,435 and an estimated construction cost of \$1,207,294.

Engineer Danny Hollander gave the County Highway Weekly Crew Report which included the following work: put up signs, patched roads, hauled mulch to Youth Camp, cut trees after the storm, ran the ditcher in Wayne and Ohio Townships, ground stumps, fixed tile under the road on 450N, and ditched along 250W, 525W and Georgetown Road.

Next, Senior Planner Thom Weintraut submitted a right-of-way dedication of .0741 acres for the Medaris/Mullen Minor Subdivision in Ohio Township. Commissioner Flohr made a motion to approve the Right-of-Way Dedication MIP-14-03

for Medaris/Mullen Minor Subdivision. Commissioner Kleinhenz seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

Next agenda item was the consideration of a Notice to Bidders for Recording Equipment Upgrade at the County Jail. Major Gary Myers stated the request was being made to replace the existing recording and storage system which does not meet State statute requiring a 180-day minimum of stored recordings. The bid specifications include mandatory attendance of a pre-bid meeting to be held on May 7, 2014 at 10:00 a.m. at the Sheriff's Office. Bids will be accepted until 10:00 a.m. on May 12, 2014. The Notice to Bidders will be advertised on April 24th and May 1st in The Republic and Hope Star Journal. Chairman Lienhoop made a motion to approve the Notice to Bidders for Recording Equipment Upgrade at the County Jail. Commissioner Kleinhenz seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

Additionally, Major Myers presented three (3) bids for three (3) new replacement Maytag stack washer and dryer sets for the Community Corrections area as follows:

Great Lakes Commercial Sales (Indianapolis, IN) \$8,082.00
Laundry Systems of Tennessee (Sevierville, TN) \$7,563.75
Abt Appliance and Electronics (Glenview, IL) \$9,372.00

Major Myers recommended foregoing the low bid received by Laundry Systems out of Tennessee in order to accept the Great Lakes bid due to its nearer, in-state location in Indianapolis to ensure prompt service for any future repairs/warranty work. The Maytag equipment will be covered by a 5-year warranty on all parts. Commissioner Flohr made a motion to accept the middle-priced bid of \$8,082 from Great Lakes Commercial Sales out of Indianapolis for three (3) stack washer/dryer sets for Community Corrections. Chairman Lienhoop seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

For the next agenda item, Chairman Lienhoop asked elected officials to "give up" their marked parking spaces for the use of taxpayers Monday, April 28, 2014 through Monday, May 12, 2014.

It was announced that the County Council would be meeting in special session April 22, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers.

There being no other business the meeting was adjourned by Chairman Lienhoop at 10:20 a.m. The next Commissioners' Meeting will be held on Monday, April 28, 2014 at 10:00 a.m. in the Commissioners' Chambers.

	BARTHOLOMEW COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
	CARL H. LIENHOOP, CHAIRMAN
	LARRY S. KLEINHENZ, MEMBER
ATTEST:	RICHARD A. FLOHR, MEMBER
BARBARA J. HACKMAN	