COMMISSIONER'S MEETING July 1, 2013

The Bartholomew County Commissioners met in regular session on July 1, 2013 in the Governmental Office Building, 440 Third Street, Columbus, Indiana. Chairman Carl Lienhoop called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Commissioners Larry Kleinhenz and Rick Flohr, County Auditor Barbara Hackman and County Attorney J. Grant Tucker were also in attendance. Chris West, with the Auditor's office, gave the Invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Commissioner Kleinhenz made a motion to approve the June 24, 2013 minutes. Commissioner Flohr seconded the motion that passed unanimously.

The Commissioners' Claims were presented for approval. Commissioner Flohr made a motion to approve the Commissioners' Claims as presented. Commissioner Kleinhenz seconded the motion that passed unanimously.

Chairman Lienhoop read the New Permits Report from 6/24/2013 to 6/28/2013. Thirty-five (35) permits had been issued with a fee amount of \$3,932 and a valuation amount of \$1,647,760. The total fee amount for the month of June was \$24,530.

County Highway Engineer Danny Hollander presented a letter to County Surveyor E.R. Gray requesting assistance in preparing a Control Survey Drawing, Right of Way descriptions and Platting and Marketing new Right of Way for the CR 325 West Road widening project, starting just south of 200 North and north to Lowell Road.

1

Commissioner Kleinhenz made a motion sign the letter to Surveyor E.R. Gray. Commissioner Flohr seconded the motion that passed unanimously.

Engineer Hollander gave the weekly crew report. Last week, they mowed in German, Wayne, Sandcreek and Rockcreek Township. They chipped and sealed in Flatrock, German and Columbus Township. They also patched roads and milled on 650 N.

County Fire President Rodney Ferrenberg gave a report and evaluation of the

2013 Ambulance Service and Related Services. He presented the following points of interest:

• Response time improvement

- NFPA Quote
- Initiative to decrease scene time 1) IV en-route 2) improved hand-off between CFD to CRH medics and 3) reduction of duplicated procedures.
- CRH Patient Satisfaction Jan. 99%, Feb. 99%, March 92%, April 99% and May 82% with YTD average of 93%
- Improvements after analysis of run data. They decided to make a slight adjustment to the boundary lines of EMS 1 (Fire Station 1 Downtown) and EMS 4 (Fire Station 5 Tipton Lakes) to be effective mid-July.
- EMS 6 non-emergent hours of operation to be changed to facilitate more efficacies in work load and revenue generation for private runs also effective mid-July
- OSSI (AVL) Go live date also effective mid-July

County Attorney J. Grant Tucker read the following bids for the construction of

Bridge No. 148 on CR 650 N:

Duncan Robertson, Inc.	\$628,592.99
Milestone Contractors, LP	\$781,182.90
Force Construction Co., Inc.	\$694,661.36

Dave O'Mara Contractors, Inc. \$722,934.95

Commissioner Kleinhenz made a motion to take the bids under advisement. Commissioner Flohr seconded the motion that passed unanimously.

Chairman Lienhoop announced that all county offices will be closed on Thursday, July 4, 2013 in observance of Independence Day.

County Auditor Barbara Hackman announced that Ben Jackson, the new Columbus Township Trustee, was sworn in this morning. She said that he would be a good asset to the office.

Auditor Hackman also announced that Shannon Henson would be replacing Eric Peery, a member of the Elizabethtown Town Council, who recently resigned. Ms. Henson's position will go into effect July 2, 2013.

Taxpayer Mike Lovelace stated that he read where the Town of Hope was turned down for funding by the Bartholomew County Convention, Recreation and Visitor Promotion Commission (Commission) and asked if the Commissioners could step in to help them. Chairman Lienhoop stated that they are aware of this and are disappointed that the Town of Hope was turned down, but was unsure of what action to take. Attorney Tucker explained that the Commission is a *"creature of statute."* The statute provides for how members are appointed. The Mayor appoints 6 members and the Commissioners appoint 5 members. The statute enumerates how members are appointed. The Commissioners and the Mayor are limited as to what they can do and there is limited qualifications as to who can get funding. There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned by Chairman Lienhoop at 10:27 a.m. The next Commissioners' meeting will be on Monday, July 8, 2013 at 10:00 a.m. in the Commissioners' Chambers.

BARTHOLOMEW COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

CARL H. LIENHOOP, CHAIRMAN

LARRY S. KLEINHENZ, MEMBER

RICHARD A. FLOHR, MEMBER

ATTEST:

BARBARA J. HACKMAN, AUDITOR